Favorite Breastfeeding Books

 

This post was written as part of The Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about your favorite parenting books. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 18th through the 31st!


In the days of my carefree youth, I was an avid reader. I preferred fiction – the more nonsensical the better. But then I got pregnant, and that changed everything. Suddenly, I was faced with the responsibility of raising my own little person! And so my reading interests shifted to non-fiction, specifically pregnancy, birthing and parenting related. I devoured any book I could get my hands on, in hopes that something might resonate with me to help form my own personal parenting philosophy.

Any parent knows that you cannot possibly understand the joys and challenges of parenting until you hold that baby in your arms for the first time. But reading helped – all that carefully thought out content gave me some inkling of what to expect and helped me feel more confident and prepared. I attribute Pregnancy, Childbirth and the Newborn (Penny Simkin) to a successful natural childbirth experience with Ben and Natural Childbirth the Bradley Way (Susan McCutchheon) to another empowering labor with Alex. These two books had some information on breastfeeding, but perhaps more importantly created an environment where an unencumbered mom could apply what she had learned and a drug-free baby could hone in on his instincts to get breastfeeding off to the best possible start. Labor is one component of breastfeeding and by association parenting that I think far too many people overlook.

But on to the real book review – I have three favorites:

The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding (La Leche League International)
This book has it all: breastfeeding information and guidance from a reliable source, to carry you through all ages and stages of the breastfeeding relationship. The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding is filled with valuable content and practical tips that will help establish and nurture the breastfeeding relationship. As a dietitian, research-based is of the utmost importance to me, and I feel totally comfortable recommending this book to mothers and health professionals alike. It’s my new favorite baby shower gift! If you’re expecting or know someone who is, read The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding.

Breastfeeding: Keep It Simple (Amy Spangler)
If The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding is the breastfeeding St James version of the bible, Breastfeeding: Keep It Simple is the condensed version. This book power-packs breastfeeding basics into less than 100 pages. If you’re short on time or in need of a quick review, check out Breastfeeding: Keep It Simple.

We Like to Nurse
Parents and siblings alike benefit from “reading up” on breastfeeding. Children books that normalize breastfeeding are a great way to prepare for the frequent nursing that a newborn requires. We Like to Nurse normalizes breastfeeding by sharing beautiful illustrations of animals nursing their young. Ben liked it and that’s the only seal of approval I need to recommend a kid’s book.

These are just a few of the countless breastfeeding books out there. I also highly recommend The Ultimate Book of Breastfeeding Answers (Newman). If you’re in need of something on a more specific topic, the updated Breastfeeding Resource guide will be posted to the Utah Breastfeeding Coalition’s webpage soon.

Today’s guest post is from Cara Munson. Cara is a mother, dietitian and hopefully soon to be IBCLC! She loves anything that involves being outside with her husband and two boys.


Here are more post by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival

Leave a comment