Breastfeeding Products

breastfeedingcafecarnivalWelcome to The Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival!

This post was written as part of the Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about products that have helped you to breastfeed. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 18th-31st!

I always knew that I wanted to breastfeed. I thought that because breastfeeding is such a natural thing between a baby and mamma that it would be a piece of cake. Boy, was I wrong! We’ve definitely had it’s challenges in the last 6 weeks since baby V was born. V decided to come preterm at 34 weeks and 5 days, which meant that he was immediately whisked away to the NICU after being born, without breastfeeding or even being held skin to skin. Not what I imagined.

On day 5 of V’s NICU stay I was allowed to try and breastfeed with the help of a nipple shield. Since then he has been a solid eater, but it hasn’t been without the help of some wonderful products out there that I’ve discovered – mostly through friends and the internet. I don’t know how we’d be able to breastfeed without them!

V in the NICU on day 2

V in the NICU on day 2

1. Pump + Hands Free Pumping Bra. Because V was in the NICU, I had to pump breast milk for him 8-12 times a day to establish a good supply. I was lucky to be in a hospital that supported breast milk and breastfeeding, because immediately after I was taken to my room after giving birth, I was brought a hospital grade pump. I was also given a prescription for a rental that I could use at home when I was discharged. I highly recommend using a hospital grade pump to establish your supply, and to keep it up while baby is still using the nipple shield. Also, my baby was very sleepy in the beginning and could barely begin to touch the supply I had. It was imperative in those early days to be able to pump my engorged breasts! OUCH. But really, the crowning jewel the glorious hands free pumping bra. I tried 2 different kinds and I LOVE the Lansinoh hands free bra. It has a velcro back that you can adjust as your chest size changes, and it zips in the front for easy on and off. I love that I can use my computer, phone, or hold my baby in my lap. It also helps lessen my annoyance with pumping, therefore allowing me to pump much more milk that I would otherwise.

2. Warm Compresses. These help so much in getting the milk to come out with a pump. They are also conveniently shaped so that you don’t have to sit and hold them to your breast, they just hang right on the pump flange. Plus, the warmth felt so amazing next to my engorged, painful breasts!

3. Lanolin & Lansinoh Soothies. This stuff saved my nipples in the early days of pumping and feeding. Applying this to them after each session really helped. Using refrigerated gelie pads also felt great on my sore nipples! They are easy to just stick on and let them do their work

4. My Brest Friend Pillow. My dear friend Claire provided me an amazing breastfeeding gift basket when she found out I had delivered our bundle of joy, and it has been a lifesaver! The thing I love the most is the pillow she provided in the kit. It’s perfect for feeding baby! I have both the Boppy and My Brest Friend and I love that the My Brest Friend straps to your waist and stays at the height you want, especially when you have such a little baby on your hands. So much better than the Boppy in my opinion (thought V likes to lay propped up with the Boppy).

breastfeedingproducts5. Glider. The one baby related spurge that we decided on during pregnancy was a glider. And I’m so glad we did! It’s really handy to have a dedicated place to feed baby, with a nice side table to set essentials on while nursing (like a snack and the TV remote).

6. The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding. This book has been my go to when I have questions or concerns about breastfeeding. I wouldn’t have imagined how many questions I would have! Another wonderful gift from the breastfeeding care package!

7. Brewers Yeast + Oatmeal. Every morning I make myself a bowl of oatmeal with flax seed and brewers yeast. These have helped keep my supply up while using the nipple shield (notorious for lowering supply after long term use). I plan to make lactation cookies with oats and brewers yeast soon (when I can find time which is scarce with a newborn).

8. Netflix & iPhone. These have been a life saver during those long feeding sessions, especially in the middle of the night. I’ve already finished watching all of The Office and half of 30 Rock while breastfeeding. It’s nice to feel like you’re staying somewhat connected while you’re stuck inside with your babe.

I hope some of these ideas help you on your journey toward breastfeeding bliss. If you have essential breastfeeding products, feel free to comment and let me know about them!

Here are more posts by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

1 Comment

Filed under Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival, Breastfeeding Products

One response to “Breastfeeding Products

  1. Great list! You NICU parents have all my admiration. That sounds like a lot to get through — I’m so glad you had the support you did!

    I don’t generally need to pump so have never indulged in a hands-free pumping bra, but I do like to donate milk so am thinking of getting one this time around. It’s otherwise just such a hassle to have my hands tied up like that.

    I love my glider, too! My husband wants to get rid of it (we got it used and it’s a little ratty), and I just can’t. I love how comfy and useful it is for nursing.

Leave a Reply

