My Breastfeeding Support

breastfeedingcafecarnivalWelcome to The Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival!

This post was written as part of the Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about people who have supported your breastfeeding goals. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 18th-31st!

I have learned in my young adult life that if I want to achieve a goal I have to be dedicated, determined, patient, and most importantly to not be so hard on myself. I also learned that what works for me is creating small goals along the way to reach my ultimate goal. Also, having people support me helps keep me positive and makes me stay on track instead of giving up.

When I was pregnant with my second child I knew I wanted to exclusively breastfeed. I had some fears because I was not successful with my first child. I was young/naive and I did not have any support.  However, this time around I was determined.

My daughter graced us with her presence on the fifth of February of this year. My first goal was to have her latch on properly. We both were not successful. I had help from lactation consultants and boy were they great help. However, I couldn’t have them with me 24/7 so for the most part we weren’t latching on correctly. I had sore cracked nipples and felt like giving up already.

I then turned to my sister-in-law that breastfed her two children. Her first born was breastfed up until she was four. Let’s just say I was impressed and admire her a lot so I knew she would give me some helpful advice. Her advice was to give it two weeks. Yup, just like that …give it two weeks and everything will be be better and to also drink lots of water. I am so glad I listened because literally after two weeks I was no longer in pain and didn’t know what cracked, sore nipples were. Those were things of the past now. I ended up achieving my first goal during this time and thanks to her for telling me to hang in there.

My next goal was to try and be successful with breastfeeding every month. My main supporter was and is my husband. He has been by my side providing water, snacks, meals, massages, and best of all he gives me comforting words and all around positivity when I struggled with it in the early months.

Here we are five months in and I am still exclusively breastfeeding. I am proud of myself for never giving up and forever grateful for having such amazing support. I know I will succeed with reaching my ultimate breastfeeding goal which is to breastfeed for a year, but who knows, I just may extend it a bit longer. I love breastfeeding!

20140511_162544_resizedCoryrie Gentry is a stay at home mom to two wonderful kids and a supportive military spouse. I am an island girl at heart, born and raised on Guam.

Here are more post by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival, Breastfeeding Support

Leave a Reply

