Renee’s Online Lifelines

breastfeedingcafecarnivalWelcome to The Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival!

This post was written as part of the Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about websites that helped you in your breastfeeding journey. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 22nd through August 4th!
 


 

Renee Lila and ClarissaWhen my third child, Clarissa, was born I was a lot more house bound that I ever had been.  I had an eleven year old, a two year old and a newborn who was a screamer.  You know, that baby that screams bloody murder for the entire car trip, be it five minutes or five hours (not that I dared take her on a trip that long)?  Yeah, that baby.  Plus, Clarissa was just fussy.  It she cried a lot (until I figured out she had a food allergy) and I spent an exorbitant amount of time bouncing and nursing with baby tucked into a sling.  So I had a lot of time on my hands without free hands.  I had a lot of late nights with everyone else in my house tucked into bed.  So, what did I do?  I got online, of course.  Enter: online lifelines.

I had already been a part of a TTC (trying to conceive) message board on JustMommies.com and moved on to the “playgroup” where I had been online friends with many mothers for quite some time.  These ladies were invaluable for those late nights.  A wonderful place to complain about being up late, tired and hormonal.  Also, a fantastic place to share countless baby pictures, stories, successes and failures.  I also turned to some breastfeeding specific online forums to seek answers to why my sweet young baby was so fussy.  I found the La Leche League International forums a wonderful resource.  There are not only many like minded mothers posting there, but numerous accredited LLL leaders to bounce ideas off of.

my three childrenI did many a Google search on overactive letdown, food allergies, oversupply among other things.  However, I don’t trust everything I find on line so a few trusted sites became my go to sites for breastfeeding questions beyond my own scope of knowledge.  Kellymom.com is run by an IBCLC (International Board Certified Lactation Consultant) and is really easy to use and has good, current breastfeeding information.  Another website I frequented many times as a breastfeeding mother was AskDrSears.com.  Dr. Sears has a wonderful attachment parenting site with lots of good information for breastfeeding mothers.

Honestly, I loved my online mother friends and still keep in touch with a few of them.  Having those mothers who were in the same place at the same time as I was was an invaluable thing.  I believe we mothers always instinctively know what is best for out babies, however decades of civilization teaches us otherwise.  Having other mothers to bounce ideas and feelings off of without fear of judgement (or who cares if they judge, chances are you’ll never see them face to face) is a great way to confirm that many others feel the same way you do. Finding a group of like minded mothers from all over was a nice way to connect, even at 3 o’clock in the morning while having a crying baby strapped to you.  If you’re a new mother, be it your first or your fifth, I highly recommend finding online lifelines. With them, Success is Within Reach!

 


 
Here are more post by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

3 Comments

Filed under Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival

3 responses to “Renee’s Online Lifelines

  1. Pingback: An Ode to Kellymom | Adventures of Lactating Girl

  2. mctimbra

    You can always count on other moms going through the trenches with you at the same time, to be up in the middle of the night, too 🙂 Great list of resources and I like that this list included a forum for moms you’d formed relationships with over time, going through the same experiences together and moving through motherhood together.

  3. Great resources! I love that you got your support from a forum too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

