Why is Breastfeeding Important to Me

Welcome to The Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival!

This post was written as part of The Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about the importance of breastfeeding. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 18th through the 31st!
 


 
Why is breastfeeding important to me? I have always been involved in the health industry and knew that breastfeeding was nutritionally, the healthiest thing I can do for my unborn children at the time.

When I was personal training prenatal clients, they would often come to me for help in nursing their children. Really having no clue and not knowing where to go, I took a 3-day course by Jan Barger, who is a wealth of info, but this clearly out of my scope. But I learned more. I learned about the emotional and mental health benefits for the child, how it affects their ability to bond, have better coping mechanisms, they are sick less often boosting their immunity and sets them up for proper metabolic development… less likely to become an overweight child. This 3-day course was awesome for my own personal growth and development and truly understanding why I wanted to breastfeed. Call me a nerd, but really in the end if my children are really healthy, can lick a cold/flu in a couple of days, decreased chance for being overweight as a child, and have better coping skills, then I feel better about my job in what I have done.

NOW, before someone says, I formula fed and my child can bond, is intelligent, etc… I am one to not give up easily. I tried all I could to have a homebirth and end up in the hospital with a c-section. I tried all I could to breastfeed my first born daughter… exclusively. After 3 months, I had to give her formula at night as I was not producing enough and at her 9 month check up after she lost a few ounces, it was time for me to give her more. Humbled by both birth and breastfeeding experiences, there is a time and a place for modern medicine so to speak.

I am not thrilled that formula companies use the cheapest ingredients in their formulas, the first 45%-49% is straight up corn-syrup, non-GMO soy and cows that have been pumped with hormones. I feel formula companies can make a better formula. It made me ill to give it to her, but her growth depended on it. I still nursed her, the first half of the day, the second half was all formula, but felt good I was still able to provide something (it was better than nothing).

My second child, my son was able to nurse exclusively his first year… ok well except a few times when I was out and had nothing stored (he never took a bottle from me)… but towards the end, I also made my own… for supplemental usage. I educated myself more the second time. To me, the health benefits, the time involved, the commitment is well worth it as I know, I am setting up their health for the rest of their lives.

Today’s guest post is from Jasmine Jafferali, MPH. Jasmine is an Lifestyle and Wellness Consultant specializing in gluten free living and women’s health.  She is a freelance writer as the National Pregnancy Health Examiner and Chicago Family Health Examiner for Examiner.com and speaks throughout Chicago and conferences on various topics from pre/postpartum exercise and health, infant and toddler nutrition and gluten free living.  She is the Program Coordinator and instructor for an online course that she authored, Professional Certificate in Women’s Personal Exercise Training and Wellness through Educational Fitness Solutions, Inc. She is also a Master Trainer for Healthy Moms(R) Fitness and their Social Media Director.It is her personal mission to raise her children to be healthy and happy.  She wants to help you do the same and to empower you to make realistic and healthy choices for you and your families.

Jasmine lives in Chicago with her husband, Jeff, and their children, Lilly and Luke.   Jasmine enjoys working out, being outdoors and running with her family.   Sharing her passion for being in the kitchen, Jasmine enjoys teaching her four year old daughter, Lilly to cook and bake by creating healthy and tasty gluten free recipes together, making nutritious homemade baby and toddler food for her son Luke and spending quality time with her husband Jeff.  You can find her at http://www.healthyjasmine.com
 


 
Here are more post by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival

Leave a Reply

