To My Little One

Welcome to The Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival!

This post was written as part of The Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is things we’d like to share with our nurslings about what it means for us to breastfeed. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 18th through the 31st!


I love your laugh
the one that means you know the milk is on its way
A smile creeps across your face as you catch sight of my breast and
the sweetest little giggle escapes your lips as you move in to catch me.

It just amazes me how much you delight in my breasts
how much you delight in me
How is it that my breasts
can soothe every bonked head and skinned knee?
can relax you to sleep?
can heal the bumps in our relationship.

This
is what breasts were created for
The hormones, feelings, desires, milk composition, amount
Everything.
Just.
Works.
It is what we were created to do
you and me

I am a better mother with you at my breast
Everyone sees
How happy we are together
How comforted you are so close to my heart
The whole community is inspired
I treasure these moments because someday
You will no longer need my milk
But I won’t forget

I have learned so much by nursing you
how to meet all your needs
how to set gentle boundaries
how to give everything that I have and all that I am
to this beautiful life
You!

I love you!

Today’s guest post is from Jeana Jones. Jeana is a mother absolutely in love with her husband of three years and her 16 month old daughter. She is the library liaison for this breastfeeding cafe and also assisted in creating our baby friendly community by passing out international breastfeeding symbol stickers to businesses around Salt Lake City. She takes her daughter with her everywhere she goes, including wearing her and nursing her while singing in the choir at her church. She has seen firsthand the benefits of including babies as valuable members of the community.

 


 Here are more posts by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “To My Little One

  1. Rachel

    Wow! I feel this way exactly. What a beautiful poem to your little one!

  2. Darliegh

    Jeana, That is so beautiful! It gave me goosebumps.

  3. Jeana

    Thanks for the affirmation, Rachel and Amy, and thanks Claire for organizing the blog carnival. It was fun to participate!

  4. Jeana

    Thanks to Darleigh too. Sorry, I must not have refreshed the page, so I wasn’t seeing your comment.

Leave a Reply

