No Dairy, Eggs, Soy, Peanuts, or Tree Nuts

Welcome to The Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival!

This post was written as part of The Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about nursing in special circumstances. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 18th through the 31st!


“No dairy, eggs, soy, peanuts, or tree nuts.”

Wow, that is a relief. A relief from the oozing road rash that covered my baby girl’s face for the past five months. A relief from the seemingly random hives that would show up all over her chubby torso. A relief from the puffy lips she would get now and then that made me think “this has got to be a food allergy”, even when her pediatrician and dermatologist dismissed that theory almost before I suggested it while passing me a prescription for yet another face cream that could cause long term damage to her skin.

“You’ll kill yourself trying to figure it out.”

Nope, I didn’t. After months of eliminating suspected allergens from my diet with no success (probably because I never eliminated soy and dairy at the same time) all it took was a trip to a pediatric allergist (after quite a wait because there are not many in this area) and a series of skin-prick tests, which didn’t even bother my nursing baby.

To finally know exactly what to cut from my diet made me giddy with happiness. I did not have to stop nursing. She was not allergic to my milk – just some of the stuff that was in my milk. I had not done anything wrong and I did not have to “switch her to formula” as a well-meaning relative had emphatically suggested. I couldn’t help but smirk as I thought what a disaster that would have been.

“Oh my, I couldn’t do it. I would give up!”

No you wouldn’t. And that is not a helpful thing to say. No, you don’t know what this is like, unless you’ve gone through it. So don’t presume to know what you would do or what I should do. Don’t make me feel abnormal, when I am trying to feed my baby in the normal way.

What is helpful?

Tell me I am doing a good job. Tell me how great her skin looks now that we figured it out. Tell me I’ll figure it out when I slip and accidently consume a baked good that had hidden dairy. Just please, please don’t act like the situation is hopeless. It’s not, and you have no right to say that.

Four beautiful, lively years later our favorite things are: Vegan restaurants and bakeries, organic food stores, local veggies and meat, KidswithFoodAllergies.org, Living Without Magazine, allergy translation cards and the knowledge that, for almost all four of those years, my daughter had all of these things to supplement the breastmilk she was getting from my body.

Today’s guest post is from Melissa Knighton. Melissa is mother to two girls and wife to one guy. She is taking a break from her teaching career in special education to pursue motherhood. She is chairing this year’s Breastfeeding Cafe and is a La Leche League Leader in Salt Lake City, Utah.

 


 Here are more posts by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

4 Comments

Filed under Challenges

4 responses to “No Dairy, Eggs, Soy, Peanuts, or Tree Nuts

  1. theadventuresoflactatinggirl

    I couldn’t even tell that she had any sort of rash on her face before I knew her. She’s the cutest girl little girl!

  2. Wow, all I can say is “hats off to you!” We eliminated dairy to help our twins with their GI issues, and that was tough to learn how to do (ie. how to decipher food labels, what to cook as alternatives, etc!) But you are right – you learn and experience all sorts of new foods out of your normal comfort zone because of it! Kudos, momma, for putting you sweetie’s health as a top priority!

  3. SwanSwan

    any suggestions for diet? I need to do the same thing and can’t figure out what to eat…I know several veggies are out as well….

    • mknighton

      Swan, can you let me know what your specific dietary restrictions are? I can help you better if I know exactly what you are avoiding. ~Melissa

Leave a Reply

