Breastfeeding My Toddler Through Pregnancy

This post was written as part of The Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about breastfeeding when you have more than one child. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 18th through the 31st!
 


 
I am currently I am 15 weeks pregnant with my second child and continuing to breastfeed my almost 18 month old daughter. It has had its challenges so far, but definitely been worth it. People most often ask me when I plan to wean my daughter and what I will do once the baby comes and my first daughter still wants to nurse.

For those who understand our point of view on the importance of breastfeeding, I say I don’t plan to wean unless my daughter chooses to on her own, and I personally hope to be able to tandem nurse both children. I also get asked alot if its uncomfortable to continue breastfeeding. I know this can be different for everyone, and although I can find it uncomfortable at times, it’s never painful and I have ways of keeping my mind off any discomfort I experience. I find that I do need to eat more often, and feel more tired (I usually hae to have at least 9-10 hours of sleep) but these are also side effects of being pregnant and not neccessarily due to breastfeeding.

Overall, the benefit to continuing to breastfeed my daughter is definitely worth any cons there are to doing so. I have continued to have a wonderful, personal relationship with my daughter that few women in our society (while pregnant) get to experience anymore. I believe that this has led her to be more emotionally secure and self-confident, which will continue to make a difference throughout her entire life. My daughter is rarely unhappy, has a very strong confident personality, and is very intellectually bright. I cannot imagine how different my daughter would be if we didn’t have the strong breastfeeding relationship that we do.

Today’s guest post is from Heather Simpson. Heather is a stay-at-home mother living in Sandy with her husband and 18-month old daugther Chloe and is expecting another child. She enjoys attending La Leche League meetings, reading, baking, and speding time with her family and attachment-parenting her daughter.
 


 
Here are more post by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

2 Comments

Filed under Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival

2 responses to “Breastfeeding My Toddler Through Pregnancy

  1. Micki Jo

    I nursed my daughter who was 18 months, through the pregnancy of my 2nd child. I would not have done it differently. It was painful and I produced very little milk. But after my son was born I tandum nursed the 2 and it was the best thing I have done for them. They are like 2 peas in a pod. There was never a jealosy issue because I was with both of them, feeding both of them. Now my oldest is 7 and my middle is 5 and they are best friends!!! It was everything I wanted and more!

  2. abu1882

    It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this topic, but you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Pregnancy By Weeks

Leave a Reply

